SIAT Summary - 2011

SIAT 2011 was inaugurated on 19th January 2011 by Smt. Supriya Sule, Honorable Member of Parliament, in the august presence of Dr. David Schutt, Chief Executive Officer, SAE International USA and Shri R. Dayal, President SAE India, other dignitaries present during inaugural function were Shri Anant Talaulicar President - ARAI and Chairman – SIAT 2011 Organising Committee and Shri Shrikant. R. Marathe, Director – ARAI.

During the symposium totally 155 technical papers were presented including 33 Keynote Papers, more than 50 papers were presented by international experts. The deliberations were focused on the key areas such as, Vehicle Engineering, Automotive Safety, Alternate Fuels, Emissions, NVH (Noise Vibrations and Harshness), Power Plants, Materials and CAE (Computer Aided Engineering). SIAT 2011 was attended by about 1300 delegates from all across the globe.

The grand exposition SIAT EXPO 2011 was open to automotive personnel and interested public and provided a great opportunity to share and disseminate information and conduct business. About 140 exhibitors, occupying 168 stalls from all across the globe participated in the SIAT Expo. About 5000 visitors visited SIAT EXPO 2011.

Second Edition of the Technology Theatres has been conducted during SIAT 2011 by the technology and service providers namely, M/s MTS, USA M/s. ATS along with M/s. Kistler, Germany, M/s. MIRA, UK, M/s. Romax, Japan M/s. SWRI, USA and ARAI.

Very interesting Panel Discussion was held on 21st January on the theme of SIAT “Sustainable Mobility–A Creative Challenge”, by the eminent panelist. The panelists were Shri Rajiv Bajaj, M.D. Bajaj Auto, Shri Ravi Chopra, Vice President ARAI, Shri Srinivas Ram, President – ACMA, Dr. Sahastrabuddhe, Director COEP, and Shri Ravi Pandit, Chairman KPIT Cummins.

The SIAT 2011 mega event concluded with the Valedictory function chaired by Shri. Srivats Ram, President – ACMA, Shri Ravi Chopra Vice President ARAI graced this occasion. Shri Shrikant. R. Marathe, Director – ARAI gave the welcome speech, the various awards were distributed at the hands of the chairman, the session concluded with vote of thanks by Shri A. V. Mannikar, Convenor SIAT 2011 & Dy. Director – ARAI.

  • First Best Paper
  • Second Best Paper
  • Third Best Paper
  • Best International Paper
  • Best Indian Paper on Environmental Pollution
  • Best Oral Presentation - Based on assessment by Audience
  • Best Poster Presentation Award in Automotive Safety
  • Best Poster Presentation Award in Automotive Emission
  • Awards for Best Stall SIAT-EXPO 2011
  • Special Recognition for stall

Third Prize

Paper No.: 2011-26-0115 “Integration of Real and Virtual Tools for Suspension Development using mHIL technology” -P R Pawar, ARAI & Ford Boone , MTS

Second Prize

Paper No.: 2011-26-108 “SIZE INDIA – Anthropometric size measurement of Indian driving population” - D D Kulkarni ARAI

First prize

Paper No.: 2011-26-0002 “Development of CNG injection engine to meet EURO V emission norms for LCV applications.” S Karthikeyan – Nissan-Ashok Leyland S D Rairikar - ARAI

Best International Paper

Paper No.: 2011-26-0093 “Design and evaluation of a new portable restraint for motor coach rollover occupant safety” - Chandrashekhar Thorbole The Engineering Institute, Inc

Best Oral Presentation

Paper No.: 2011-26-0058 “Inflatable side impact beams in martensitic steel ” Peter Alm SSAB Autoliv

Best Indian Paper on Environmental Pollution

Paper No.: 2011-26-0033 “Design and development of 3 cylinder 75 KW/L , high power density design engine for passenger car application to meet EURO IV/V emission norms ” S S Ramdasi ARAI

Best Poster Presentation Award in Automotive Safety

Third Prize

“Design of a Sari Guard” Virendra Kuwar & Shahnawaz Ahmed Khan -COEP-ARAI Academy

Second Prize

“Bamboo-Metal Combination For Roll Over Protection- A Sustainable Safety” P.K. Ajeet Babu & Vijay R- VIT – ARAI Academy

First Prize

“Design and Development of Test rig for Assessment of Knee Injuries” Sumukh T. Deshpande - VIT –ARAI Academy

Best Poster Presentation Award in Automotive Emission

Second Prize

“Parametric Evaluation of Catalytic Converter using CFD and TK Solver”

Mr. Vishal Chavan- COEP – ARAI Academy

First Prize

“Use of Ethanol-Diesel Duel Fuel by Electronic Injection in Diesel Engines – Emission and Performance Studies” Mr Selva M S & Mr Gokulakrishnan S - Institute of Road & Transport Technology, Erode

Awards for Best Stall SIAT-EXPO 2011

Third Prize- Stall No.: 68 , 69 & 70 - “iASYS Technologies, Pune”

Second Prize- Stall No.: 29 to 32 & 87 to 89 - “AVL India Pvt Limited”

First Prize - Stall No.: 135 to 138 “Bosch Limited”

Special Recognition for stall

“The Automotive Research Association of India” (ARAI)

For Professional Calendar


For Professional Archives

For Professional Search

E.g., 2017-04-25
E.g., 2017-04-25
Bangalore Section Eastern Section Northern Section Southern Section (Including Coimbatore & Hyderabad Division) Western Section (Including Nashik & Indore Divisions)
Professional Students General News Letter
Why Should you Join SAEINDIA Membership Classification & Benefits Registration Application Forms
Guide lines for Formation of SAEINDIA Collegiate Club Student Membership Application Form SAEINDIA Collegiate Club Application form Collegiate Club Reimbursement Claim Form Collegiate Club Listing
General Information History vision&Mission Managing Committee Useful Links